Glorious Gospel

Yolanda Yvette Adams

Yolanda Yvette Adams (b. 1961) is a gospel singer, record producer, actress and radio host from Texas, USA. In 2007-2016, she had her own nationally syndicated morning gospel show in the United States.

Her albums “Mountain High… Valley Low” (1999) and “Believe” (2001) both sold enough to became certified US Platinum records.

Billboard named her the No. 1 Gospel Artist of the 00-decade, and listed her album “Mountain High…Valley Low” as the best gospel album of that era.

Short facts

Birth name Yolanda Yvette Adams
Also known as Queen of Contemporary Gospel Music

First Lady of Modern Gospel

The Reigning Queen of Urban Gospel

Born August 27, 1961 in Houston, Texas, USA
Genres Gospel
  • Singer
  • Record producer
  • Actress
  • Radio host
Years active 1987–present
  • Sound of Gospel
  • Tribute/Benson
  • Verity
  • Elektra
  • Atlantic
  • Columbia
  • N-House


Yolanda Yvette Adams, who is the eldest of six sibblings, grew up in Houston and graduated from Sterling High School in 1979. She began working as a school teacher and part-time model in Houston after graduating from Texas Southern University. Eventually, she game up her teaching caareer to become a full-time musician.

Early musical career


In 1982, Houston’s Southeast Inspirational Choir released the singel “For My Liberty” with Adams as the featured vocalist. Four years later, she could be heard on the “Give Us Peace” record released by the Edwin Hawkins Music and Arts Seminar Choir.

First album: Just As I Am

Adams was signed to the record label Sound of Gospel in 1987 and released her first album “Just As I Am”.

Mainstream breakthrough

The album “Mountain High … Valley Low”, released by Elektra Records in 1999, wasn’t just a success within the urban contemporary gospel arena – it also propelled her into mainstream fame. The album sold 2x Platinum in 2000 and earned Adams a Grammy Award.

Notable singles from the album include “Yeah”, “Fragile Heart”, and “Open My Heart”.

Day By Day

After going several years without releasing an album, Adams returned in 2005 with “Day By Day” which charted even higher than “Mountain High… Valley Low” on the Billboard 100 and Billboard R&B Albums charts.

Notable singles from the album were “Be Blessed,” “Someone Watching Over You,” “This Too Shall Pass”, and “Victory”.

The Yolanda Adams Morning Show (2007-2016)

The Yolanda Adams Morning Show premiered in 2007 on KMJQ-FM and quickly became a great success. Within two years, it was aired in 26 different radio markets.

It was a show combining urban contemporary gospel with talk segments and comedy, with a total running time of roughly four hours per episode.

Personal life

Adams was married to Troy Masion in 1987-1990 and to former NFL player Tim Crawford in 1997-2004. Both marriages ended in divorce.

Adams has one child with her second husband; a daughter named Taylor Adams Crawford (b. 2001).

Albums 1987 – 2011

  • 1987: Just as I Am
  • 1991: Through the Storm
  • 1993: Save the World
  • 1995: More Than a Melody
  • 1996: Yolanda… Live in Washington
  • 1998: Songs from the Heart
  • 1999: Mountain High… Valley Low
  • 2000: Christmas with Yolanda Adams
  • 2001: The Experience
  • 2001: Believe
  • 2005: Day by Day
  • 2007: What a Wonderful Time
  • 2011: Becoming